Congress blows bugle for party president battle; Issues notification for polls

Share With

New Delhi: The Congress’ central election authority on Thursday issued a notification for the AICC president polls, setting the ball rolling for electing the successor to the longest-serving party chief Sonia Gandhi.

In the notification issued, Chairman of the Central Election Authority Madhusudan Mistry, below the ability vested in him by provision of Article XVIII of the Constitution of the Indian National Congress, introduced the election of the president of the party to be held as per the given schedule.

According to the notification, the method for submitting nominations for the election will likely be held from September 24 to 30.

The date of scrutiny of the nomination papers can be on October 1, whereas the final date of withdrawal of nominations can be October 8.

The election, if there may be multiple candidate, will happen on October 17. The counting of votes and the declaration of outcomes can be on October 19.

“Now therefore, I hereby call upon the delegates of the Congress Party to elect the President of Indian National Congress in accordance with the provision made under Article XVIII,” Mistry mentioned within the notification.

The nomination kind will likely be obtainable on the AICC Office, 24 Akbar Road, New Delhi, based on the notification.

The race for the Congress president’s put up hotted up on Wednesday with Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot giving a transparent indication that he may enter the ballot fray and Shashi Tharoor assembly the party’s ballot panel chief to investigate concerning the nomination formalities.

After over twenty years, the Congress is ready to see a contest for the put up of party chief.

The upcoming polls would definitely be historic as the brand new president would exchange Sonia Gandhi, the longest-serving party president who has been on the helm since 1998, barring the 2 years between 2017 and 2019 when Rahul Gandhi took over.

The party final noticed a contest for the put up in November 2000. Jitendra Prasada had misplaced to Sonia Gandhi in 2000 and previous to that Sitaram Kesri had defeated Sharad Pawar and Rajesh Pilot in 1997.

Source link

Share With

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.