Gujarat polls: Cong declares 39 candidates in fifth, 6th lists

Share With

New Delhi: The Congress on Sunday launched two lists of 39 candidates for the Gujarat  Assembly elections, fielding Jignesh Mevani from the Vadgam constituency.

Dalit chief Jignesh Mevani had gained from Vadgam seat in Gujarat’s Banaskantha district in 2017 as Independent candidate. The Congress first launched its fifth checklist with six candidates together with Manhar Patel from Botad in place of Ramesh Mer. Later in the night, it launched an inventory of 33 candidates, taking the entire variety of candidates declared thus far to 142.

The candidates named in the fifth checklist had been Jayanti Jerajbhai Patel from Morbi, Jivan Kumbharvadiya from Jamnagar Rural, Chhattarsinh Gunjariya from Dhrangadhra, Mansukhbhai Kalariya from Rajkot West and Divyesh Chavda from Gariadhar.
In the sixth checklist of 33 candidates, the candidates fielded by the Congress included Mevani from Vadgam (SC) seat, Thakor Mohansinh from Mansa, Baldevji Thakor from Kalol, Imran Khedawala from Jamalpur-Khadia, Amit Chavda from Anklav, Bal Kishen Patel from Dabhoi. and Sukhrambhai Rathva from Jetpur (ST) seat.

The Congress had on November 4 launched its first checklist asserting the names of 43 candidates for the elections.

On November 10, the get together got here out with one other checklist of 46 names. It launched an inventory of seven candidates on Friday however one was a alternative for the sooner introduced candidate. The fourth checklist of 9 candidates was launched on Saturday.

The Congress is in search of to oust the BJP from energy in the house state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi the place the saffron get together has been in energy for greater than 20 years.

Elections for the 182-member Gujarat Assembly can be held in two phases on December 1 and 5. The counting of votes can be taken up on December 8.

Source link

Share With

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *