How to watch night launch of NASA’s mega moon rocket | Digital Trends

Share With


NASA is aiming to launch its next-generation Space Launch System (SLS) rocket on a mission to the moon this week.

Following a number of postponed launch efforts in latest months due to technical points and severe weather systems, NASA will try the rocket’s maiden launch early on Wednesday morning ET (Tuesday night PT) from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

The extremely anticipated mission will see the world’s strongest rocket ship an uncrewed Orion spacecraft on a flyby of the moon as half of the Artemis I mission, marking the beginning of a brand new period of area exploration.

NASA set out the schedule in a tweet shared on Monday:

#Artemis I is launching to the Moon!

Nov. 15:
3:30pm ET (2030 UTC): Tanking protection
10:30pm ET (0330 UTC): Launch broadcast

Nov. 16:
8:30am ET (1330 UTC): Trajectory burn
10am ET (1500 UTC): Earth views from @NASA_Orion

Stay tuned: https://t.co/sQWu67xTPq pic.twitter.com/srAEMfTQ63

— NASA (@NASA) November 14, 2022

How to watch

Preparations for launch, in addition to the launch itself, may be considered by way of the participant embedded on the prime of this web page, or by heading to the NASA’s YouTube channel, which can carry the identical feed.

Live protection of tanking operations, with commentary, will start at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) on Tuesday, November 15.

Full launch protection will start at 10:30 p.m. ET (7:30 p.m. PT) on Tuesday, with the liftoff at present scheduled for 1:04 a.m. ET on Wednesday (10:04 p.m. PT on Tuesday).

What to count on

A slew of cameras on the bottom and on the rocket itself will cowl the launch from a number of angles because the 98-meter-tall SLS car lights up the Florida sky on its manner to area. Commentators will even discuss viewers by the early levels of the flight, together with the deployment of the Orion spacecraft, which can then make its manner towards the moon earlier than returning for a splashdown touchdown in December.

NASA will even livestream what promise to be spectacular Earth views from cameras on Orion afterward Wednesday morning.

A profitable Artemis I mission will pave the way in which for Artemis II, which can fly the identical path, however this time with a crew aboard. After that, Artemis III will purpose to put the primary lady and first particular person of coloration on the lunar floor, presumably as early as 2025.

Editors’ Recommendations






Source link


Share With

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *